Online Banking

Independent Thinking… Independent Banking

The roots of Texas National Bank can be traced back to Hamlin, Texas where in 1951 W.T. “Dub” Johnson began his banking career with the Farmers & Merchants National Bank which later became Hamlin National Bank. Johnson stayed with that bank until 1995 when, after some twenty years as President and CEO, he resigned to become Chairman of Texas National Bank.

Texas National Bank was organized in late 1994 and opened for business May 8, 1995, immediately following the purchase and assumption of the assets and liabilities of the Sweetwater Branch of Hamlin National Bank. The Hamlin Branch, operating in Sweetwater since January of 1990, had been known as “HNB Sweetwater.” Organizers of Texas National Bank included W. T. “Dub” Johnson, Bill Johnson, Glen Murphree, Robert Pieper, and Jim Johnson. Bill Johnson has served as President & CEO since the bank’s first day of business.

On March 1, 2014, Texas National Bank completed the acquisition of First State Bank in Tuscola which had operated in South Taylor County since 1912. At the time of the acquisition, the Tuscola bank Board of Directors consisted of Stan Egger of Tuscola, Harold Elledge of Abilene, Joel Terry of Tuscola, C. Lee Smith of Clyde, W.H. “Bill” Terry, Jr. of Tuscola, and R.Y. Wilson of Fort Worth.

On February 21, 2017, Texas National Bank opened the doors of a brand new building at the corner of Graham Street and Hwy 83 in Tuscola, TX after operating from a location 1 block east for nearly 60 years.

Since its opening, Texas National Bank has been an independent bank with no ownership or directorate affiliations with any other financial institution.

At Texas National Bank we strive to meet the needs of our community by providing leadership as well as high-quality financial services. Members of our staff are actively involved in all facets of life in their communities.

If we can provide better service to you, please contact us online or give us a call at 325-235-4997.

Portrait of Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson

Chairman of the Board

Portrait of Mike Fernandez

Mike Fernandez

President and Chief Executive Officer

Portrait of Chris Bibb

Chris Bibb

Senior Vice President

Portrait of Louis Soliz

Louis Soliz

Senior Vice President and Cashier

Portrait of Sheila Cowan

Sheila Cowan

Senior Vice President

Portrait of Vickie May

Vickie May

Executive Secretary

Portrait of Cynthia Threlfall

Cynthia Threlfall

Vice President

Portrait of Casey King

Casey King

Assistant Vice President

Portrait of Heather Lomas

Heather Lomas

Assistant Vice President

Portrait of Cindy Martinez

Cindy Martinez

Assistant Vice President

Portrait of Joel W. Terry

Joel W. Terry

Tuscola Market President

Portrait of Deadra Kelley

Deadra Kelley

Vice President


Please visit our LinkedIn page for a listing of current openings: Texas National Bank on LinkedIn